Feed on

Recent visit to Joe Powell Golf in Sarasota, Fl (22 posts)

• Profile picture of freddiec freddiec said 3 years, 2 months ago:

I had to share this with you guys, it was just so good, I had to pass this along.  I’ve been collecting persimmon woods and playing them for about 8 years now.  Like most of you my interest and passion for these clubs has reached fanatical at times. I’ve always looked for the perfect club to admire and to play in the bag.  I’ve know that Joe Powell was still in business and that he was down in Florida. My wife and I discovered a great destination to vacation and wouldn’t you know its just a 20 minute drive to Joe Powell.  We’ve been down to Sarasota 3 times now in the past 2 years and it just dawned on my a few weeks ago I need to go visit this great club maker. I called John Powell the president a month ago and he was really great over the phone and said he would be willing to show me just about anything I wanted to see, clubs, his process, ect.  This past Friday I drove over and visited with John for an hour.  He took the business over from his Dad a number of years ago. His Dad was at MacGregor for a while before leaving and starting JP in the 1970s.  JP became a big player and made clubs for a lot of big names. John said most of their players were actually LPGA players, like Dotty Pepper. Langer won his 1st Masters with a JP driver. (I never knew that… ).  My vistit with John was very exciting for me, it was really more that I expected. John showed me his production area, where they assemble clubs, store clubs, ect. They have a really nice facility with a real old school shop feel.  Its the type of place that has not changed much in 30 + years. His persimmon driver models are things of beauty and in my opinion after seeing a lot of his clubs first hand that day and listening to John speak about his process and history, its clear his Woods are not only real classic, but top quality and design.  He allowed me to select a couple t